Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 15 of 15

Herbert H. Bateman State Senate Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 83 B31
Scope and Contents Office files, 1968-1982, of Herbert H. Bateman, Virginia Republican State Senator from Newport News. Includes correspondence with constituents and state officials; bills and legislative materials; memorandum; reports; pamphlets; and publications arranged according to subject. The collection contains background information and committee working papers showing Virginia's responses to the energy crisis of the late 1970's and to Ronald Reagan's "New Federalism" programs as well as the...
Dates: 1968-1982
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Jo Ann Davis Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2007.111
Scope and Contents Records of United States Representative Jo Ann Davis, Congresswoman from Virginia's First District from 2000 to 2007.  The Papers are mostly legislative material where she was involved either as an originator of or co-signer to Dear Colleague letters or as a sponsor or co-sponsor to legislation, but also includes speeches, press releases and office files. The first folder in the first box contains news clippings, biographical information, list of staff members and definitions of...
Dates: 2001-2007
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Richard J. Davis Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 86 D27
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1975-1985, of Richard J. Davis, mayor of Portsmouth, Virginia and lieutenant governor of the Commonwealth of Virginia. The papers pertain primarily to his administration as lieutenant governor and include correspondence with politicians and constituents, personal correspondence, campaign material, speeches, newspaper clippings, photographs and a videocassette of Davis and his family discussing his years as a student at William & Mary, and his career.

Dates: 1975-1985
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Earl Gregg Swem Library records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 32
Scope and Contents This collection includes both processed series and unprocessed accessions of records created by the Earl Gregg Swem Library at the College of William and Mary including those from component offices and individual staff members. A majority of the collection contains correspondence from the dean of the libraries and library administration. Inventories for some series and accessions are available in the Special Collections Research Center and links to PDFs of those inventories can be provided...
Dates: 1920-2015
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

B. Floyd Flickinger Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2012.341
Scope and Contents Papers of B. Floyd Flickinger, Superintendent of the Colonial National Historic Park.  Letters, memos, reports, speeches, documents, photographs, and other material related to the creation and operation of the Colonial National Historic Park in Yorktown, Virginia.  Material on archaeology at Jamestown and the expansion of the National Park Service.  Personal papers which include Flickinger's position at the Technical Training Service at the Quartermaster School during World War II, his...
Dates: 1927-1950
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Guy Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1985.42
Scope and Contents Papers of the William George and Gladys Bennett Guy family of Williamsburg, Virginia with additions from Joan Eastman Bennett.  Includes correspondence, invitations, minutes, clippings, oral histories, notebooks, reports, photographs, written memories, essays and printed materials. Papers include items about water and gas, Williamsburg Landing, American Red Cross, Williamsburg United Service Organization, Williamsburg Female Academy, College of William and Mary and zoning regulations. ...
Dates: 1900-1988
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Richard Lee Morton Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 90 M84
Scope and Contents Papers, chiefly 1930-1969, of Richard Lee Morton, professor of history at the College of William and Mary from 1919 to 1959. Series 1 includes personal and professional correspondence, lectures and notes relating to his research on Virginia history, and material relating to his community activities in Williamsburg, Va. Includes correspondence of his wife Estelle (Dinwiddie) Morton, land grants, 1756 and 1774, signed by Robert Dinwiddie and Lord Dunmore, Confederate currency and bonds,...
Dates: 1756-2006; Majority of material found in 1930-1969
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Myers-Burrage-Graham Papers (I) Group A

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 98 M99 Group A
Scope and Contents

Group A;  Papers of Moses Myers, and his sons Samuel Myers (1790-1829) lawyer in Norfolk and Pensacola, Fla. and John Myers (1787-1830) merchant of Norfolk. Includes papers of Barton Myers (1853-1927), mayor of Norfolk, Va. and his family.

Dates: 1776-1925
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Office of the President. Paul R. Verkuil Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 2.17
Scope and Contents

This collection is composed of files from the College of William and Mary Office of the President during the administration of Paul Verkuil. For the most part, headings assigned to folders in their office of origin have been maintained in the box list inventories available here.

Dates: 1984-1992
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Office of the President. Thomas A. Graves, Jr. Records

 Collection
Identifier: 00/02/UA 2.16
Scope and Contents

The collection includes subject files, speeches, and other material from the administration of College of William and Mary President Thomas Ashley Graves with some overlap with his predecessor Davis Y. Paschall and his successor Paul Verkuil. For the most part, headings assigned to folders in their office of origin have been maintained in the box list inventories available here.

In addition, there are two unprocessed boxes. Consult a staff member for assistance.

Dates: 1940-1985; Majority of material found in 1971-1985
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

A. Willis Robertson Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 66 R54
Scope and Contents This collection is housed off-site. At least 72 hours advanced notice is required for retrieval. Papers, 1921-1967, of A. Willis Robertson, U. S. Congressman and Senator from Virginia. Chiefly his senatorial office files, 1946-1966. Robertson was a conservative Democrat, serving at the same time as Harry F. Byrd, Sr. Subjects in the collection include national defense, agriculture, taxation, banking, government employees, the Moral...
Dates: 1921-1971, 1988; Majority of material found in 1946-1966
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

William Munford Tuck Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 68 T79
Scope and Contents This collection is housed off-site. At least 72 hours advanced notice is required for retrieval. Papers, 1918-1968, of William Munford Tuck, Democrat, member of the Virginia House of Delegates, Virginia State Senate, lieutenant-governor, governor, and congressman. Tuck's law practice files and his correspondence, 1950-1953, are arranged alphabetically. His congressional file is arranged alphabetically and the legislation files are arranged by session...
Dates: 1918-1968
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Robert H. Tucker Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 68 T795
Scope and Contents

Papers; 1923-1957; of Robert H. Tucker, professor of economics at Washington and Lee University, who served on Virginia Commission on County Government and the Virginia Commission on State and Local Government. Includes articles, speeches, lectures, reports and other writings concerning Virginia state and local government, tax reform, education, highways, economics, and Washington and Lee University. Most of the material is undated.

Dates: 1923-1957
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

United States Federal Nineteenth Century Government Publications

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2008.204
Scope and Contents Government publications printed by the U.S Government Printing Office (GPO) and others from the 1820s-1890s. The formats include legislation, annual reports, histories, speeches, resolutions, reports, rebuttals and more. Topics include abolition of slavery, Mexican War, information and reports about the Civil War, Army register for 1858, annual reports for railroads and banks, historical paper on Christ Church in Norfolk, Virginia (1878), Governor Pierpoint's address to "People of...
Dates: 1826-1878
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Williamsburg (Va.) Area Ephemera Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 1.09
Scope and Contents This collection covers the Greater Williamsburg Area, including Williamsburg, Yorktown, Jamestown, James City County, York County and other nearby communities. It includes gifts and purchases whose contents are ephemeral in nature and not well-suited as stand-alone collections.  The items are usually transient documents of everyday life and can include menus, flyers, advertisements, and programs but can also be postcards, games, ticket stubs, and the like. The majority of...
Dates: 1858-2015
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Filtered By

  • Subject: Reports X
  • Subject: Speeches X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Reports 14
Correspondence 13
Speeches 12
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 5
Photographs 5
∨ more
Virginia--Politics and Government 5
Financial records 4
Invitations 4
Minutes 4
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 4
Agendas (administrative records) 3
Legal documents 3
Memorandums 3
Press releases 3
Speeches, addresses, etc. 3
United States--Politics and Government 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--Library 3
World War, 1914-1918 3
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 2
Broadsides 2
Charter Day 2
College of William and Mary--Presidents 2
Communism--Post 1945 2
Graduation (School) 2
James City County (Va.)--History--20th century 2
Jamestown (Va.)--History--20th century 2
Maps 2
Matthew Whaley School (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Pamphlets 2
President's House (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Programs 2
Publications 2
Scrapbooks 2
Technical reports 2
Transcripts 2
Transportation--Virginia 2
Virginia--History--20th century 2
Virginia--Politics and Government--19th century 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 2
World War, 1939-1945 2
Wren Building (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Yorktown (Va.)--History--20th century 2
Agricultural exhibitions--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Agriculture--United States 1
Agriculture--Virginia--History--19th century 1
American Red Cross--History--World War II period 1
Animal welfare--United States 1
Announcements 1
Athletics 1
Athletics--Football--Scandal of 1951 1
Banks and banking--United States--History 1
Baptist Church--Virginia--History 1
Buildings and Grounds--Old Library (1908) 1
Buildings and Grounds--Swem Library 1
Bumper Stickers 1
Burgesses Day 1
Calendars 1
Capital punishment--Virginia 1
Charles City County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Civil service--United States 1
Class materials 1
Clippings (information artifacts) 1
Clubs--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
College of William and Mary--Commencement 1
College of William and Mary--Presidents--Dwellings--History 1
College of William and Mary--Swem Library--Richard Cornish Fund 1
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation--History 1
Communism--United States 1
Curriculum--History 1
Degrees--Honorary 1
Diaries 1
Diplomas 1
Editorials 1
Education--Virginia--History--20th century 1
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--19th century 1
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--20th century 1
Energy policy--Virginia 1
Episcopal Church--Missions--Japan 1
Essays 1
Fish trade--Virginia 1
Fliers (printed matter) 1
Florida--History--19th century 1
Football--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Fundraising campaigns 1
Genealogy 1
Greeting cards 1
Intergovernmental fiscal relations--United States 1
Invoices 1
Isle of Wight County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Jamestown Exposition (1907) 1
Jamestown Festival (1957) 1
Jamestown Ter-centennial Exposition (1907) 1
Journals (periodicals) 1
Land use--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Library catalogs 1
Library employees 1
Membership lists 1
Menus 1
Merchants--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Merchants--Virginia--Portsmouth 1
+ ∧ less
 
Names
United States Congress 4
Democratic Party (U.S.) 3
Omohundro Institute of Early American History and Culture 3
Virginia State Senate 3
Associated and Branch Campuses--Virginia Associated Research Campus 2
∨ more
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 2
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 2
College of William and Mary. College of Arts and Sciences 2
College of William and Mary. Office of the President 2
College of William and Mary. School of Education 2
Democratic Party (Va.) 2
Development Office--Endowment Association 2
Graves, Thomas Ashley, Jr 2
Graves, Thomas Ashley, Jr., 1924- 2
Marshall-Wythe School of Law 2
Office of the President 2
Order of the White Jacket 2
State Council of Higher Education for Virginia 2
Verkuil, Paul R 2
Virginia Institute of Marine Science 2
Williamsburg Community Council (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
American Association of University Women 1
American Library Association 1
American Red Cross 1
Associated and Branch Campuses--Richard Bland College 1
Bateman, Herbert Harvell, 1928-2000 1
Bennett, Henry Eastman, 1873-1941 1
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Busch Gardens (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Chandler, Alvin Duke 1
Chandler, Alvin Duke, 1902-1987 1
College of William and Mary. 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of History 1
College of William and Mary. Project Plus 1
College of William and Mary. School of Business Administration 1
College of William and Mary. Swem Library 1
College of William and Mary. William and Mary Theatre 1
Colonial National Historical Park (Va.) 1
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 1
Cook, Margaret C. 1
Currie, Clifford W. 1
Dalton, John N. 1
Dinwiddie, Robert, 1693-1770 1
Dunmore, John Murray, Earl of, 1732-1809 1
Educational and Civic Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Flickinger, B. Floyd, 1905-1992 1
Godwin, Edwin Mills, Jr., 1914-1999 1
Guy family 1
Guy family. 1
Guy, Gladys Elizabeth Bennett 1
Guy, William George 1
Haskell, John D. 1
Healy, George R. 1
Holton, A. Linwood (Abner Linwood), 1923- 1
Infant Sanitarium (Virginia Beach, Virginia) 1
Joseph and Margaret Muscarelle Museum of Art 1
Mathews, Mary 1
Middle Plantation Agricultural Society (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Miller, Shirley Fout 1
Miss Williamsburg Pageant (Va.) 1
Morton family 1
Morton, Estelle 1
Morton, Richard Lee, 1889-1974 1
Mt. Ararat Baptist Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Myers family 1
Myers, Barton, 1853-1927 1
Myers, Kate Baldwin 1
Myers, Moses, 1752-1835 1
Myers, R. Baldwin, 1883- 1
Newport News Shipbuilding and Dry Dock Company 1
Nott, Edward (Governor) 1
Paschall, Davis Young, 1911-2001 1
Peninsula News (Toano, Va.) 1
Peninsula Transit Corporation 1
Pulaski Club (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Republican Party (U.S.) 1
Robb, Charles S. 1
Self Study 1
Special Collections Research Center 1
Special Collections Research Center, Swem Library, College of William and Mary. 1
Swem Library 1
The Palace (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
The Virginia Comedians 1
Tuck, William Munford 1
Tucker, Robert H. 1
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 1
US Army Quartermaster School 1
Unitarian Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
United Service Organizations (U.S.) 1
United States Amateur Ballroom Dancers Association. Chapter #609 (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
United States. Government Printing Office. Office of the Public Printer 1
United States. National Park Service 1
Verkuil, Paul R. 1
Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Board 1
Virginia Gazette (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Virginia House of Delegates 1
Virginia Independence Bicentennial Commission 1
Virginia Shakespeare Festival 1
William & Mary GALA (Gay and Lesbian Alumni/ae), Inc 1
Williamsburg Baptist Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
+ ∧ less